Pennsylvania law requires drivers to immediately stop their vehicles, exchange information and provide aid when an automobile accident happens. Drivers who fail to follow the law may face a third-degree misdemeanor charge and up to a $2,500 fine and as much as a year in prison.
Despite the potential penalties, thousands of hit and run accidents occur in the state every year.
Which steps to take after a hit-and-run accident?
The first thing you should do after a hit-and-run accident occurs is to stop your vehicle and pull over to a safe place. Check any passengers involved for injuries. Next, if anyone has injuries, call 911. The 911 operator will probably notify the police, but if not, call the police also. Provide the police with as much information as you have about the hit-and-run vehicle and driver. Finally, call your insurance company and report the accident.
Will your insurance pay for your injuries?
If the hit-and-run driver caused the accident, your insurance may pay for your injuries if you have the right coverage. Pennsylvania law requires all drivers to purchase a minimum of $5,000 of coverage for medical expenses, which you can use to pay for your medical bills whether you caused the accident or not. If you purchased the optional uninsured motorist coverage, your policy will pay for your injuries up to the limit of this coverage when a hit-and-run driver causes an injury accident.
If you have injuries because of a hit-and-run driver, recovering damages for your injuries may be challenging. Taking the correct steps after an accident occurs can increase your chances of recovery.